RV Sales Consultant: Barbara Andrews General RV Center 1577 Wells Road Orange Park, Fl 32073 Toll Free 888 904-0104 or 904 458-3000 Cell# 904 610-1018

Stick-and-Tin vs AZDEL


With a name like “traditional,” it’s difficult to think poorly of one common method of constructing RV sidewalls. Its other moniker, “stick-and-tin,” doesn’t sound as glamorous, but for something that dates back to at least the 1940s, it’s still holding its own.

The other method – best-known as “laminate” – is a better-living-through-science approach, taking a resin plastic, reinforcing it (often with fiberglass) and then treating it with a gel-coat. The end result is then laminated onto a backer board and ultimately onto a superstructure of the RV-manufacturer’s choice.

Still, those in the industry who work with both – and even those who don’t – believe both have their place, especially when it comes to trailers and fifth wheels. For all laminate’s technology, stick-and-tin does offer something many buyers want: a lower price tag, and it’s likely that manufacturers will make – and customers will buy – both technologies on into the future.

There isn’t a shopper alive who doesn’t like to see a lower number when the bottom line is added up, and at least on the surface that’s where the old traditional stick-and-tin, otherwise known as wood-frame construction with aluminum siding, has the most pull.

Although motorhomes have generally abandoned traditional construction methods for the lighter laminates, it’s still popular with fifth wheels and especially travel trailers.

AZDEL is the new composite in the RV industry that replaces wood. The RV Industry’s leading composite panel producer for wood replacement has increased its annual production capacity by 20 million pounds, or a projected 100 million square feet.

After completing a year‐long installation project, AZDEL’s newest production line started supplying RV manufacturers last June 2011, according to a news release. The growing demand for AZDEL’s unique family of lightweight composite products for transportation markets around the globe has driven the need for its fourth and most advanced manufacturing line.

AZDEL credits expansion to the RV Industry’s increased interest in Lightweight Composite Materials for Wood Replacement. AZDEL has served the RV Industry since 2006 and today has over 20 million square feet of their groundbreaking AZDEL SuperLite Panels in service. Expansion will enable future supply of AZDEL products to meet growing demand and demonstrates AZDEL’s ongoing commitment to the RV Industry and transportation markets worldwide.

RV manufacturers continue to specify AZDEL’s composite panels for their superior light weight and high quality performance over wood‐based materials. AZDEL believes its material has not only advanced the RV Industry, but also is enhancing the RVing experience for this and future generations of RVers. Barbara Andrews, stop by and see me for more information on this product, 1577 Wells Rd Orange Park, Fl 32073  904 458-3000.

Comments on: "Stick-and-Tin vs AZDEL" (23)

  1. Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a 25 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  2. This blog does not show up properly on my apple iphone – you might wanna try and repair that

  3. Thank you for your opinion, but I have only posted two video,s to two of my many posts. Some people enjoy the videos. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  5. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa? My website discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. If you’re interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

  6. Straight to the point and well written! Why can’t everyone else be like this?

  7. I simply want to mention I’m beginner to blogs and honestly loved this web site. Likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You surely have great writings. Bless you for sharing your web site.

  8. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  9. Dude.. I am not much into reading through, but somehow I got to read lots of articles on your blog. Its amazing how interesting it is for me to visit you really often. –

  10. I have been checking out a few of your posts and i can claim pretty nice stuff. I will surely bookmark your site.

  11. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read more things about it!

  12. Nice post. I learn one thing more challenging on totally different blogs everyday. It can at all times be stimulating to learn content material from other writers and follow just a little one thing from their store. I’d choose to make use of some with the content material on my blog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll offer you a link in your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  13. I would like to thank everyone! I appreciate your dropping in to comment. I will try to answer all your questions. First this is a free WordPress blog/theme called Spectrum. The Spectrum is a very simple layout that comes with your security protection, also the free themes do not support plugins such as backing up your data or site but you can request it be done from WordPress and they will email it to you. I always make a copy of my articles, pictures, and video’s in my documents. For those who requested to exchange links, please send your link and I will add it to my Reciprocal page. My email is bandrews@generalrv.com and my site is https://barbrvsales.wordpress.com and my Reciprocal page is https://barbrvsales.wordpress.com/general-rv-center-links/. If you would like to add a text line to your link, that will be fine just send it and let me know how you want it to appear.

    If you are having trouble with loading, pictures, text and the overall layout it could be several things, like the server updating, your browser settings, using multiple browser because they conflict and want to be default. RSS feeds always look different than the original layout. I use ccleaner to keep my cache cleaned as well as my C drive. It’s very important to eliminate all start up running processes, but your anti-virus programs. You can tweak that out in ccleaner on the tools tab.
    If you would like to use, copy anything on my site you are welcome to it. You can also reblog if you like, it is much easier. Again thank you for your comments.
    Barbara,

  14. Good tips. I totally agree with you. More article please!

  15. This is my first time I have visited here. I found a lot of interesting information in your blog. I guess I am not the only one who noticed this! keep up the impressive work. :p

  16. Fantastic content together with convenient that will fully understand story. How do That i set about gaining agreement that will put up component within the page in doing my coming bulletin? Offering good credit ranking to your any writer together with website link into the web page will not manifest as a challenge.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

