RV Sales Consultant: Barbara Andrews General RV Center 1577 Wells Road Orange Park, Fl 32073 Toll Free 888 904-0104 or 904 458-3000 Cell# 904 610-1018

Shipping Container Home


Business is Booming with Shipping Container Homes

If you are interested in off-grid living and want to spend less money than you would for an RV then you might want to consider this option. Some of these home can be quite fancy or as rugged as you want. Steel shipping containers are the temporary homes of countless consumer items being transported all around the world. Items are packed into the cargo containers in their country of origin, then shipped to wherever they’re destined to be sold. Once they’re emptied at the appropriate port, many of these cargo containers simply sit around empty or get melted down for re-use. But recently, they’ve found new lives as homes and other types of buildings.

Perhaps the two most appealing aspects of building with shipping containers are the affordability and the green construction factor: shipping container homes are far less expensive than new-material traditional homes, and reusing them rather than melting them down significantly reduces the carbon footprint of the steel containers. Shipping container homes have been constructed in London, Scotland, Amsterdam Canada and New Zealand, and the eco-friendly trend has recently caught on in the U.S. The steel cargo containers are nearly indestructible, and provide a frame that is mold, fire and termite-proof and structurally superior to wood framing.

What’s more, the containers can be found in every port in the world. Eighteen million ISO containers are manufactured to specifications from the International Organization for Standardization and are used worldwide to transport products on ships. Once the containers are unloaded at docks they are typically left there, since it’s expensive to ship them back to their point of launch. In 2006 alone, the U.S. acquired 7.5 million shipping containers from China and returned just 3.5 million. The leftover 9,000 ton steel containers typically get melted down, which takes 1,000 kilowatt hours of energy per pound.

Steel shipping containers as a construction material are practical and affordable, and a superior solution to 2012 alignment for shelter. The benefits of building with shipping containers are numerous but at the top of the list are: structural superiority, affordability, durability, aesthetics that subscribe to our contemporary era, and the ease by which prefabricated buildings can be created with containers and then moved about. In general, traditional construction is too slow, too expensive, too wasteful and too antiquated.

Container-based homes are usually constructed at a cost of about 60% to 70% of a traditional home. Depending upon the location, construction times can be as little as two weeks for a smaller prefabricated structures, or six to eight months for larger residential projects. And these buildings have a lifespan that far exceeds traditional construction. By recycling shipping containers we gain the benefits of working with steel without contributing to any adverse environmental impact from the production of new steel.

Ecopods claim to not only be thinking outside the box; they’re re-inventing the box. These small, eco-friendly structures are designed to be used as add-ons or temporary use buildings, such as guest bedrooms or home offices. But it’s easy to imagine using it as a primary residence, as long as you don’t mind living in a small space. The cargo container buildings are designed to be off-grid and as ecologically sound as possible, incorporating recycled and recyclable material. The pods can be moved just about anywhere with ease, and the hydraulic-powered deck/door is designed to keep the structure very secure when it’s not in use.
Canadian group BARK Collective wanted to show the world what great Canadian design is all about. They came up with a remarkable cabin that can be packed up and shipped on a train, a truck, a ship, an airplane or a helicopter while being unrecognizable as anything other than a shipping container. But once at its destination, it opens up into a comfortable, if rather small, living environment. There are accommodations for a family of four and one pet to live off the grid in style. Now that is truly AWESOME! Barbara Andrews.

Comments on: "Shipping Container Home" (48)

  1. Ummm. Very cool. Did you mention how an average consumer could get their hands on one?

  2. This is so cool! I would love one of these

  3. I had heard of this a few years ago. I imagine they would also make great cottages! If I had more space – I would use it as an add on garage – my bike collection is exceeding my garage space!

  4. Hello, i think that i noticed you visited my site so i came to “go back the favor”.I’m attempting to in finding issues to enhance my web site!I assume its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  5. Thanks for the article, how can I make is so that I receive an alert email whenever you write a new article?

  6. OMG, I LOVE this post!! I’d so live in one of those! Loved the videos too and the illustrations. So inspiring!:) Thanks for posting.

    • Awe, thank you very much! I’m going to buy 4 of them and ship them to Tennessee where i’m from. I’ll keep everyone posted on my progress. Again thanks for stopping by.

  7. I just want to mention I am just new to blogging and site-building and definitely enjoyed this website. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You really come with really good well written articles. Thank you for sharing with us your webpage.

  8. Thanks for stopping by.

  9. Great – I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your web site. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs as well as related info ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it in the least. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, site theme . a tones way for your client to communicate. Excellent task.

  10. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  11. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  12. It is in point of fact a great and useful piece of info. I am glad that you simply shared this useful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  13. reallifeallyson said:

    wow! what a great post. We actually lived in a shipping container when we volunteered in Tanzania, but those folks obviously didn’t have the benefit of seeing these models 🙂 The tie down rings proved very useful for mosquito nets.

  14. Your home is valueble for me. Thanks!…

  15. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  16. Real wonderful visual appeal on this website, I’d rate it 10.

  17. Great blog! Where did you get that layout?

  18. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  19. I love these, they are so cool!

  20. I’ve long been a fan of tiny homes – you’ve found some wonderful shipping container photos, thanks for sharing!

  21. […] background-color:#222222; background-repeat : no-repeat; } barbrvsales.wordpress.com – Today, 8:19 […]

  22. Some times its a discomfort inside the ass to read what folks wrote but this website is real user genial ! .

  23. I have to say that for the last couple of hours i have been hooked by the impressive posts on this website. Keep up the good work.

  24. That’s certainly an interesting twist on the old 1950s idea of “pre-fab!”

  25. “Nice Post. It’s really a really good article. I noticed all your important points. Many thanks”

  26. Do you know if there is a condensation problem on the inside. I live in Texas and am worried about that.

  27. I would like to thank everyone! I appreciate your dropping in to comment. I will try to answer all your questions. First this is a free WordPress blog/theme called Spectrum. The Spectrum is a very simple layout that comes with your security protection, also the free themes do not support plugins such as backing up your data or site but you can request it be done from WordPress and they will email it to you. I always make a copy of my articles, pictures, and video’s in my documents. For those who requested to exchange links, please send your link and I will add it to my Reciprocal page. My email is bandrews@generalrv.com and my site is https://barbrvsales.wordpress.com and my Reciprocal page is https://barbrvsales.wordpress.com/general-rv-center-links/. If you would like to add a text line to your link, that will be fine just send it and let me know how you want it to appear.

    If you are having trouble with loading, pictures, text and the overall layout it could be several things, like the server updating, your browser settings, using multiple browser because they conflict and want to be default. RSS feeds always look different than the original layout. I use ccleaner to keep my cache cleaned as well as my C drive. It’s very important to eliminate all start up running processes, but your anti-virus programs. You can tweak that out in ccleaner on the tools tab.
    If you would like to use, copy anything on my site you are welcome to it. You can also reblog if you like, it is much easier. Again thank you for your comments.
    Barbara,

  28. I’ll bookmark your blog and tell my friends to visit your site here often. I’m reasonably confident they will understand tons of new stuff here than anybody else! Great work!

  29. I think other site proprietors should take this web site as an model, very clean and wonderful user friendly style and design, let alone the content. You are an expert in this topic!

  30. Hello would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a reasonable price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  31. you’re really a good webmaster. The site loading speed is incredible. It seems that you’re doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve done a wonderful job on this topic!

  32. I have to say that for the past couple of hours i have been hooked by the impressive posts on this site. Keep up the wonderful work.

  33. Utterly pent content material, Really enjoyed studying.

  34. Good tips. I totally agree with you. More article please!

  35. Great post plus easy so that you can recognize description. Exactly how can I actually approach getting authorization so that you can post component of your post at my upcoming newsletter? Providing proper consumer credit back a creator plus url to your web-site wouldn’t often be a problem.

  36. A few very nice goods on this internet site, I enjoy that.

  37. I love the shipping container concept. I could live in one (it’s bigger than my refrigerator box). Really. I will seriously consider it because we’re sizing down again and planning to live in our son’s backyard. This would be perfect. Thanks for posting this.

  38. Terrence Robinson said:

    This is a great topic. It’s very useful information in which I have just got into this industry and have to say that it’s extremely green and cost effective and great for any type of environment. We are finding alot of interest in a ton of different markets which seems to shock us but it’s rather interesting. I spent quite a bit of time in Europe and noticed that these were popular there and saw the value myself for which my own home is a container home. Thanks for this blog it’s very informative

    Terrence
    I have photos of my home if anyone is interested
    tlrhouses@yahoo.com

  39. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this article plus the rest of
    the website is really good.

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud